Current Affairs

Pakatan to announce election manifesto on Monday

KUALA LUMPUR, 19th February: In a historic first offensive by a federal opposition coalition, Pakatan Rakyat (PR) will launch its election manifesto during its 4th National Convention in Shah Alam this coming Monday.

At a press conference in the PKR Headquarters today, PKR strategic director Rafizi Ramli said this would kickstart PR’s election campaign and prove its commitment towards policy-making that would resolve the people’s issues and oppose Barisan Nasional’s politics of race and hatred.
“We have taken a long time to craft this manifesto and I think this is the first time that the opposition begins its election campaign ahead of the ruling government,” Rafizi said.
Hope for the people

The manifesto is known as “The People’s Manifesto” and is themed “Pakatan, the People’s Hope”. It contains four main thrust which is Fraternity of the People, The People’s Economy, Welfare for the People, and The People’s Government.
Not just a list of election promises, the manifesto covers policies that have previously been articulated in the Pakatan Rakyat Common Policy Platform 2009, the Orange Book 2010 as well as specific policies in Pakatan Rakyat Alternative Budget 2012 and 2013.
Voters can expect signature PR policies to be revealed in greater detail when PR rolls out its promises on Monday, including the much touted issues of reducing car prices, abolishing unfair tolls, addressing the crime rate, and giving free education.
Senior PAS leader Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad said that PR’s offerings in the manifesto were based on its successful past five years of administration. DAP Assistant National Publicity Secretary Teo Nie Ching urged the people not to vote for PR out of hatred for BN, but out of support for PR’s policies.
The Pakatan Rakyat Policy and Manifesto Committee comprises representatives from all three component parties. PAS reps are Husam Musa (PAS Vice President), Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (PAS National Committee), Dr Hatta Ramli (PAS Elections Director), and Salahuddin Ayub (PAS Vice President).
PKR is represented on the committee by Nurul Izzah Anwar (PKR Vice President), Rafizi Ramli (PKR Strategic Director), Wong Chen (PKR Investment and Trade Bureau Chief), Sivarasa Rasiah (PKR National Committee Member), Baru Bian (PKR Sarawak Chairman), and Ahmad Thamrin Jaini (PKR Sabah Chairman).
Whereas DAP’s contributions to the committee are Liew Chin Tong (DAP National Political Education Director), Dr Ong Kian Ming (DAP Elections Strategist), Teo Nie Ching (DAP Assistant National Publicity Secretary), and Charles Santiago (DAP Selangor Vice Chairman). – The Rocket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *